What our Audience members said at Three Inches of Alive’s Matinée Show last Friday (Mounbatten CC)

Last Friday, we were joined by Yuan Ching Secondary School for the 3pm show of THREE INCHES OF ALIVE!

IMG_6776

One student shares with us:

1. In one word, share with us your experience at Three Inches of Alive. Why so?

It made me more knowledgeable. It taught me more about the history of the main character, and about the poetry she wrote, and really touched me.

2. Which part of the play resonated with you most?

The scene that made me really interested was the part when they argued, because when they expressed their feelings and anger, it was really intense and I actually felt quite scared because it’s like real life, like how my friends and I normally fight. You need great skills to do that, I’m in the drama club and to be able to do that in front of many eyes watching is very hard, it requires a lot of practice and determination to do well.

3. What other projects would you like to see from TheatreWorks?

I’d like to see the kind that are able to help me in upcoming performances, like how do you stand and depict yourself to the audience, and also performances with interesting plots like this. I did not expect this performance to be so inspiring – I’m a Geography student and don’t learn History, but this is about History and it really captured my attention.

Meanwhile, here’s what other members from our audience had to say.

Malgorzata, who just arrived in Singapore from Poland, shared:

1. In one word, share with us your experience at Three Inches of Alive. Why so?

For me, it was difficult to understand, because there were a lot of Malay sentences and sometimes I was lost. But for me, it was more about searching for your history. This I can understand because I travel a lot, and I wonder where I belong, and about other cultures, trying to understand the history of other people. Sometimes it’s hard to adjust to the new environment and new culture. But the experience was really nice, I really like it.

2. Which part of the play resonated with you most?

Let me think… It was really touching when she was making the bread with the butter and sugar. For me, I will always have these kind of memories, maybe not important, something very small, but I will think about my family and friends, so it was really touching, this moment.

3. What other projects would you like to see from TheatreWorks?

I’m open to different projects. I really like watching plays, especially if I can see it here, in Singapore – I can learn more and compare, because I’m from Poland. I think it’s quite interesting to compare this young generation’s writers, how they do it in different cultures.

IMG_6774

Marsha and Joash (pictured), both students, shared:

1. In one word, share with us your experience at Three Inches of Alive. Why so?

Joash: Refreshing? It’s very different from historical plays that I’ve attended or done in school, so it’s just a very different take on how we explore the past and the history of Singapore.

Marsha: Very enlightening, I hated History when I was in secondary school, but I feel that if we could have learnt about History through plays and more engaging platforms it would be more interesting.

2. Which part of the play resonated with you most?

M: The food. (To Joash) Have you ever tried? Bread and butter and sugar? It’s nice. Especially if you toast the bread, and when you put the butter it melts, then the sugar.

J: Yeah. I’d say what resonated with me would be the whole sculpture, the very abstract art, because – (with Marsha) when does art become art?

3. What other projects would you like to see from TheatreWorks?

M: TheatreWorks has so many, I’ll just watch all.

Thank you Yuan Ching Secondary School, Malgorzata, Marsha and Joash!

Leave a comment